Let’s [Continue to] Talk About Change

On January 28th, I was really happy to see many of my Facebook friends and Twitter followers posting and tweeting on behalf of the now-annual Bell Let’s Talk Day to raise awareness and money for mental healthcare initiatives. It was incredible to see people I know do something, no matter how small it was, to help support the destigmatization of mental health and to support those who have been affected by mental illness. However, like many others, I can’t help but feel a little disappointed by how quickly thereafter people stopped talking about it all together. Of course, I can’t expect everyone to talk about mental health every day, so this sentiment may be a little unreasonable. However, the good news is that there are still tons of people and organizations that work to support those affected by mental health issues every day — even 2 months after the infamous Let’s Talk Day!

Today I want to take the time to acknowledge a wonderful campaign in the UK that wonderful things to destigmatize mental health issues. The other day on my Facebook page, I shared the link to a wonderful video that Time To Change published. I had seen pictures and an article here and there shared by this organization, but had never really stopped to explore it. When I did, I found that their website is full of awesome resources and information.

The thing that I really like about their site is that they put onus on everyone to help end “mental health discrimination”, as they put it. They even have a pledge you can sign to promise to try to help end stigmatization whenever you see opportunity. This doesn’t have to be a big sweeping gesture — reaching out to show someone you’re there for them, speaking out against offensive jokes, and asking how someone is (and really wanting to hear the answer) can be enough to help someone.

If you are affected by a mental health issue, whether it be directly or indirectly, I encourage you to reach out for support. It isn’t weak at all, it just means that you realize that it’s #TimeToChange.

MI1

Leave a Reply

